My Miniature Saudi Adventure – Days 1 to 6

I posted my blog yesterday about my trip to visit my husband in Saudi which I wrote on the plane but couldn’t post as no internet.  So here I am writing the follow up and a little bit about my time here so far, now on day 6 of a 23 day trip (including travel days).

Day 1 – So my journey here was fairly smooth and after landing in Dammam, I managed to get off the plane pretty quick, I was fortunate to be not far away from the door in row 10.  I made my way out onto the tunnel into the airport (for those worried about stairs onto or off of the plane, I didn’t have to go up or down any, every flight was the tunnel straight out from the terminal to the plane) and I was met by 2 security people who asked to see my passport, they looked, welcomed me to Saudi Arabia and off I went to join the queue at New Arrivals.  As you come round the corner into the Arrivals area it is like a huge hall, several queues were already formed and I joined the back of one, the far right was for citizens of KSA, then you had multi entry visa holders and so on to the left hand side with all New Arrival booths.  After standing for 10 or 15 minutes a security man was walking along the queue, got to me and said “new arrival?”, “yes I am” I replied, “come with me” and then took me to the start of a new queue! “You go next” he said.  My wait had been cut right down to 20 minutes including my wait in the other queue.

They then as thought, took my picture, finger prints of both hands, stamped my Visa and sent me on my way.  As Gareth described, down the stairs or escalator, round to luggage where I spotted my suitcase on the carousel and I was done.

Walking into the hall where I was to meet G was probably one of the daunting parts of arriving in the airport, it was a sea of faces all looking for their friends or family walking out.  Luckily G was at the start and shouted “Sarah!” in a way as if to say you look scared but I’m here!  G got my suitcase from me and took me outside to the car park area where he called his driver he uses and asked him to come for us.  A few minutes later a large 4×4 type car pulled in and the driver jumped out and put my bags in the car and we were off.

It was strange arriving in the dark, you got to see people having BBQ’s out in the Desert!  Its cooler at night obviously (around 30 ish degrees c) so many people do this at this time instead, so all you saw every so often was a glow from the Desert.  Technically I had arrived on their Friday night, the start of their weekend.

We arrived at the compound where I got the guided tour of G’s apartment and met a few colleagues, soon it was time for bed (1am and travelling since 8am).

Day 2 – So I woke first pretty early on day 2, the sun rises not much after 4am here and its very bright very early.  After dozing off for a little longer we got up and went a walk around the compound, should maybe call it a village, it is called a garden village in its title after all, sounds a bit more homely.  ID pass got and G took me to visit a family staying here with their 2 kids.  Such welcoming people everywhere here, I’ve only met this family an hour and the mum (makes her sound so much older than she really is!) has made the girls lunch and has extra so feeds us all!  It was in a way nice to hear that everyone has had their own issues with the whole relocation here, whether it be Visa, Work, Housing, everyone can relate to issues that you may have had in some way, shape or form.  its nice to be able to share stories and hear others, reassuring in a funny way.  Next stop, back to the apartment and changed ready for to get picked up to go to the Corniche – my first proper outing in the daylight wearing my Abaya.  As my Abaya fastens up the front with the bottom part open I had to wear something under it to cover my legs to my ankles.  I was going to wear leggings then found a pair of loose bottoms that I would normally wear to bed, i opted to try them out and see how I got on, teamed with a vest top and I was done.

The Corniche is a bit like a beachfront parade.

Image

Image

Many people come here to walk, have picnics, meet friends.  We saw people out jogging, families playing together, couples laughing and taking pictures.  So for my first experience of being around Saudi people I didn’t feel threatened in anyway.  A few looks here and there, but nothing that made me feel uncomfortable.

We also went to Starbucks while we were there, the Corniche has many a restaurant or cafe, even a Taco Bell!!  Gareth got me to order our drinks and food and I did, easily, no issues, handed the money over, got our change and went and sat down, Gareth was happy as we were in the family section.  Yes restaurants and some shops are segregated into women/family and singles only etc.  So you may think hearing this to begin with “what the h***!!” but think about the times that you have perhaps been out and about, not just restaurants and a group of men are near you and you’ve perhaps felt a little awkward or threatened etc, this makes it so nice to go and just chill.

A few hours of being at the Corniche and the driver G uses came back for us and took us toImage

It’s got to be the biggest mall I have ever seen!!  With I don’t know how many Gate entrances, we got to Gate 12 but there were more which ill see when we go back and spend a little more time there (hehe).  The shop’s there include: New Look, Debenhams, Zara, Zara Home, Pottery Barn Kids, Pottery Barn, F&F London (you and I know it as Florence and Fred Tesco haha) to name but a few.

We went for dinner at a place called Papa’s I think it was, really nice and we all got to sit in the family section.  We were a little worried as we met some of G’s work colleagues for dinner so there were like 4 guys and me for dinner and wasn’t sure how it would work.

Dinner had, a little wonder about and time for home.

Day 3 – Got up and went to the pool today, the pool was empty when we got there at 10 ish.  I’m such a water baby, could just sit it the pool all day, you never get cold in it here.  Hours slipped away and G suggested we order some lunch from the restaurant on site.  My order was a Chicken Taco Salad, we eat by the pool at table and chairs there and it was so so nice, even in the shade it was still hot enough to not have to add any layers.  We stayed a little longer and then headed out of the peak day sun.  

Image

 

At night when the sun had went down, G took me to the local Hyper Panda.  A big supermarket a bit like a big Tesco or Asda.  Inside the foyer area was a few different shops, a Popeyes Chicken (you’ll know this if you’ve been to the states) a Claire’s Accessories a handbag shop, mobile phone cover shop, shoe shops, the list goes on.

Image

The actual Hyper Panda itself was great.  Fruit, Veg and Salad stuff all fresh as can be and relatively cheap in comparison to home.  A bottle of water is like 20p. You get several import items from the states and home too, they are a little more expensive than other items here but still cheaper than home.

Day 4 – Sunday, technically here this is their Monday.  My first day with G being at work and me being alone.  A little lie in and a trip to the Pool haha.  I had it to myself for about an hour and then met a few really nice women.  Swam about and lounged about for about 3 hours!  but then my stomach was shouting feed me and decided to try the delivery service at the restaurant.  Ordered another Chicken Taco Salad, mmmmmmmmmm, and went pack to the apartment where I got changed etc, poured a drink and my lunch arrived.  No hanging about in a wet-ish swim suit and dress for lunch, order, go, eat. Fab!! 

Image

At night we went to the gym (well I did, G went and played Squash with a guy from work) and then an early bed with a film.

Day 5 – I decided to stay in this morning and up my post from the plane journey here but by lunch time I wanted to go to the pool, really should have went to the pool earlier and then wrote but hey.  it topped out at 47 degrees today and stayed like this until the sun went down.  No amazing lunch today, we were supposed to head to the Al Rashid Mall for dinner but then the guys work bus broke down on the way home, followed by traffic fused by an accident so the normal half 5 quarter to 6 bus became quarter to 7.  A take away however from the restaurant for dinner, ordered then walked home and put our feet up while dinner got delivered, a pizza roll (bit like a big calzone) and Texas Fries (the biggest portion ever!) came to around £8 i think and easily fed us both to the gunnels.  After a long day for G and the upsetting news of on job training being delayed until September(!!) it was time for the rest of last nights film and bed.

Day 6 – Here I am typing up this post, its half past mid-day, its 47 degrees out and I’m inside on my laptop in the air conditioning. Haha.  It really does get too hot to sit out at times, it can be really ghost town ish during these hours outside.  Thinking a trip to the Gym later could be in order and then a shower before meeting G from the bus and then maybe tonight we will get out for dinner.  Fingers crossed for no broken down buses!!

If there’s anything anyone would like me to write about here or find out, just let me know and I’ll see what I can do.

Sarah x

 

 

 

Leave a comment